Uncategorized

A Place Called Home

I have called a few places home.

I grew up in a small country town. One high school. Maybe a dozen stop lights. A handful of  restaurants. Traffic jams were caused by tractors. People hold doors for you all the time. They offer to help if they see you struggling with anything. In that small town, we lived out in the county. Surrounded by fields. A enormous garden. I loved it. I lived with my mom, dad, two sisters and brother. My grandparents right next door.

Even though it was 45 minutes to the closest Walmart, it was so much simpler. Slow paced and quiet. I will likely always think of this as my hometown.

I married and now we live in a city. Seven high schools. Too many stoplights to count. Hundreds of restaurants. Traffic jams are a way of life, and the drivers aren’t courteous as they are where I grew up. Common courtesies are a rarity. We are in a townhouse. Our small yard is played in by the neighborhood kids who leave their trash all over and trample my flowers. The closest Walmart is 5 minutes away and we’re 10 minutes from 2 others. Less if you catch the lights just right.

But my family is here, and it is home now, though I would love to live in the country again. You see, my home on earth is where my family is. My husband and littles make a place, wherever it may be, home.

God has planted us here for a reason. Maybe it is to be Jesus to those unkind or burdened people, brightening their day with a smile. Maybe it is to be Jesus to those kids. Inviting them to play in the yard, welcoming them and giving them a safe place to play.

A place called home @godschicki #theloftlinkup #thisworldisnotmyhome

Ultimately, as a follower of Christ, my home is not on this earth.

“Do not let your hearts be troubled. You believe in God; believe also in me.  My Father’s house has many rooms; if that were not so, would I have told you that I am going there to prepare a place for you? ”

John 14:1-2

One day, heaven will be my home.

I can not wait.

theloft
This Page Shared at #TheLOFT
11 thoughts on “A Place Called Home

  1. Before I moved to a self-hosted blog, I always posted a song with my posts. As soon as I started reading your post, I started singing. “Where I Belong” by Building 429. I’m not sure if this link will work in the comment section, but if you aren’t familiar and the link doesn’t work, go to youtube and put in that title and group.

    Blessings,

    Carrie Ann Tripp

  2. Robbi, adjusting can be hard: remembering home and making a home where you live is even harder. I understand. Moved many times in the Army. The best thing I ever did was life changing.

    One day all I could see was negative. My world had turned grey, grey and even more grey. My grumbles moved from my head to my heart and right into my mouth. I hated myself and everything around me. horrible! horrible! horrible. Then I lifted one small prayer: “Jesus, Sir. Let me see the beauty around me You do please. Give me eyes to see. Thank you. Amen”

    Slowly, ever so slowly, as if scales were being one by one removed from my eyes and beauty was all around me. The sky was bluer than blue, I didn’t know the grass had that many shades of green and the people!….well the people had smiles on their faces and I learned their stories.

    When we had to leave there I cried.

    1. Oh, there are a lot of pluses, it’s not all bad. It has been quite an adjustment, but God has shown me that He has a plan and I am determined to make the best of it.

  3. Robbi, what a sweet post. City life can be a difficult adjusting for us country girls. I remember when I moved to a BIG city. Took a while, but eventually I really liked it. Now, I am back in the country. I love how you fix your eyes on the fact that your family makes the place you live in home. A beautiful perspective. Thank you so much for linking up at The Loft.

  4. God totally planted me here for a reason! I hated relocating from NY to PA, and I never liked where I lived. When we had to move deeper into PA a few years later, I was scared but I felt God calling out to this little town from the map. It was as close as we could afford to get to my husband’s job – which he was laid off from about a year later. But here, my kids have thrived, my faith has grown, Godly friendships have blossomed, and I was baptized! And now my husband works from home, as do I. All because God lead us to a state I didn’t want to live in 🙂

  5. Ah, so nice. I can just imagine your life in the country but sounds like you handling life in the big city. Let your life shine in the chaos and let the people see Him through you.

  6. What a beautiful post. Your hometown sounds like a place I would love to live. I have a small garden and I can remember visiting my grandmother when I was a little girl and she lived out in the country and had a big garden. Country living is great and it sounds like you are doing well in the city too because you know what HOME is all about! What a great post!

  7. Your words touch me deeply because I too, grew up in the countryside surrounded by fields. It was a much slower pace of life. My grandparents lived close by. Now I live in a city. I love your points about how we can be Jesus right where we are to the people around us, no matter where the Lord has placed us. This is a great reminder! Thanks for joining us at The Loft 🙂

Leave a Reply

