Faith at Home · Homemaking · Motherhood · parenting

“Cooking” & “Faith” {Strong Family Challenges Weeks 4 & 5}

Life has been crazy, as it is want to do, so I did not get to post about the last couple of weeks of the challenge.

These two I feel like, as with most of the challenges thus far, we didn’t have to do anything too out of the ordinary. I hope this means we are building s pretty strong family already!

Strong Family Challenge Weeks 4 & 5 @godschicki #strongfamilyproject

Week 4: Creating or cooking

Create a masterpiece in the kitchen or a family project.  You’ll love feeling accomplished together!

We do a lot of projects, and I have a bunch of other crafty things planned for once I get the house in hand. We cook about 98% of our food from scratch, and I try to ‘talk’ the kids through it. Simply narrating what I am doing and why.  For this week we made popcorn on the stove (something I have never had much success at!). We planned to watch a movie, so of course we needed popcorn!

The kids loved helping to dump the oil and kernels into the pot. Once they are older they can help shake the pot.

I am trying to make memories in the kitchen, and hopefully they will learn to cook as well! I want to start having them help more in the kitchen. We can use our table to mix things up and they can help measure and pour. They already like to play with a spare pot and spoon while I am cooking supper.

Week 5: Faith

Building a strong spiritual foundation in your child is a beautiful legacy, so this week be intentional about guiding your children spiritually.

This is something I have been passionate about for a long time. Since before kids. Before marriage actually!

Hear, O Israel: The Lord our God, the Lord is one. Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your strength.  These commandments that I give you today are to be on your hearts.  Impress them on your children. Talk about them when you sit at home and when you walk along the road, when you lie down and when you get up.  Tie them as symbols on your hands and bind them on your foreheads.  Write them on the doorframes of your houses and on your gates.

Deuteronomy 6:4-9

Some of the things we do:

Pray, a lot (you can read more about that in this post).

Read Scriptures together daily. I try to talk about it with them, at 1 and 2 years old it’s a bit rough sometimes, but the important thing is trying.

Make the most of every opportunity. There are so many teachable moments with kids. I daily pray that God would open my eyes to them and give me the words to say to make the most of them.

I plan to write more on Faith at Home in the future.

So, that is all on the challenges for now.

I am really enjoying the Good Morning Girls Study of Proverbs. I want to try to post about that this week, and there are a few other posts I have planned for this week, but we’ll see how it goes. I have a lot I need to do around the house, so I’ll only be writing on breaks and in bits of downtime.

Not directly related to the Strong Family Challenge, but Independence Day was lots of fun. We went to a local fireworks show. There is a mount we sit on, and Daddy tried to teach the kids to roll down the hill. They still preferred to run up and down it! The fireworks were great. there was a storm coming in, so the last bit of the show was sped up, we thought it was the finally, but they had just sped everything up because the finally was sped up as well, and quite over the top. I love fireworks.

I also want to pass along a sense of patriotism to our kids.

That’s just about it for now, I need to get diapers changed and breakfast done.

3 thoughts on ““Cooking” & “Faith” {Strong Family Challenges Weeks 4 & 5}

  1. I think it glorious that you are following the Lord’s instruction to teach him about His truths. Not only on Sunday, which so many people do, but also during the week. May the Lord bless you for your obedience to His Word.

Leave a Reply

