Faith at Home · parenting · Walk

With Every Breath

Every breath @godschicki

I will worship, I will worship
I will worship You with every breath
I will worship, I will worship
I will worship You with every breath

(Matt Redman’s Let Everything That Has Breath)

Singing this in youth one night I really got to thinking about the emphasized lyrics above.  I was reminded a a scripture from James:

With the tongue we praise our Lord and Father, and with it we curse men, who have been made in God’s likeness. Out of the same mouth come praise and cursing. My brothers, this should not be. Can both fresh water and salt water flow from the same spring? My brothers, can a fig tree bear olives, or a grapevine bear figs? Neither can a salt spring produce fresh water.

                                                         James 3:9-12

If praise for our Heavenly Father is coming out of our mouths, we won’t have time to say bad things about or to people.

There’s another verse that goes with this:

Do not let any unwholesome talk come out of your mouths, but only what is helpful for building others up according to their needs, that it may benefit those who listen.

                                                             Ephesians 4:29

Something to chew on……

I plan to do a series of posts on our tongues in the future, but I found the above in my journal and it was a good reminder for me, so I thought I would share.

Things are still a bit insane right now. I do hope to get back to posting more than once a week soon. Maybe another month or so, but I will try to do it more frequently!

5 thoughts on “With Every Breath

  1. You know what? This fits perfectly with what the Lord is speaking into my heart concerning a matter in our church. “Be quiet, Leah. Do not talk of it. Do not gossip about it. Just pray about it.” Thank you for the reminder and for linking up at The Loft today.

Leave a Reply

