Faith at Home · The Loft · Walk

Prayers In Parenting | A Loft Prompt

I am very excited to be co-hosting the Loft this week!

This week’s prompt is ‘Prayer’.

I have learned a lot about prayer over the years. At first I thought this prompt would be easy peasy, but settling on one facet of prayer or a few has proven harder than I thought.

I finally settled on the season of life I am in right now.

Our days are peppered with prayer. Blessings at meals, bedtime prayers and many in betwixt.

I could be identified as a ‘gentle’, attached parent.

There are times when I get frustrated. There are times when my kids get upset or frustrated, or do something they know they should not do. I try to make a conscious effort to turn to the Lord in theses times.

When I get upset, I pray out loud, asking God to help mama calm down, for Him to pour out His love and Spirit on me so that it overflows onto my children. So that I can redirect them to Him.

When the kids get upset or frustrated,  I pray with them. We pray that God will help them calm down and communicate to mama what is wrong, what they need. That God will give mama wisdom to know exactly what they need. If I know what is wrong, I pray for that issue (Dear Jesus, please help B calm down. I know that he is feeling tired. Please help him just breath and calm down. Help him get some rest so that he can feel better.).

I have found this works best for my kids. Screaming in stores has been calmed and moods greatly improved by taking time to stop and pray. It works better than distracting with a toy or any other game I have tried.

I really just thought of it as a way to get through a situation until recently when my mom said she likes how I am teaching the kids to turn to the Lord when they are tired or frustrated. I guess I am, and I hope to pass along prayer as a first reaction to situations.

Our first response when we are tired and frustrated should be to refocus on the Lord and not our circumstances.

When the kids fight, we pray. For understanding for both of them. For self control. That they would stop and think about what they are doing so that they can be sweet, and obey and stay safe. That they would remember that being nice to each other makes God happy.

When the kids get in trouble, we stop and pray before we deal with consequences. That God would help mama calm down, help the kids calm down. Help the offending party remember to be nice and understand that what they did was not nice. This is usually followed by something like a time out. After that we pray again, a very similar prayer as what we did before they went to time out. If they hurt their sibling they go give a hug and kiss to make them feel better.

We try to be in a Spirit of prayer throughout the day. Pray Without Ceasing is a post on that subject.

I have added to our list of prayer prompts, which I will post about in a little while.

The Loft: A weekly Hangout and Link Up for Christian bloggers
Graphic by Kerry Messer

#TheLoft

To Participate:

1. Be creative. We provide the prompt. You feel free to use words, photos, video, audio, your family pet, whatever, to communicate on the weekly prompt.

2. Listen twice as much. If you leave one link, visit two.

3. Be a community. Include #TheLoft graphic and/or hashtag in your post and social media so we can find each other.

4. Write like Jesus would write. We are a Christian link-up. Offensive or inappropriate posts will be deleted. No questions asked.

5. Be pertinent. Our heart is to build community and intimacy, and our means to do that is to build each link-up around a single prompt. Please make sure your post is on topic.

6. Link-Up. Each Wednesday morning at 5am EST, the link goes live, and for 6 glorious days you can link up your post on that week’s prompt. The linky will close at 5pm EST on Monday.

The Loft Link Up

We are going to provide a months worth of prompts each week so that you can be thinking and planning for the coming weeks.

This Week’s Prompt: Prayer

October 14 Prompt: Mentor

October 21 Prompt: Autumn

October 28 Prompt: A Picture Prompt

October 28 - Picture Prompt at The Loft
October 28 – Picture Prompt at The Loft

I hope you will plan to join us each week at The Loft Link-Up.

Now, it is time to link-up!!

3 thoughts on “Prayers In Parenting | A Loft Prompt

  1. Robbi, this is so good! I wish I had thought to pray out loud with my kids when they were having meltdowns! I’m going to keep this idea and use it on my grandkids. I agree with you: “Our first response when we are tired and frustrated should be to refocus on the Lord and not our circumstances.”

  2. I LOVE that you pray with your children at all times, for all situations. How awesome is that! Thank you for sharing that today at The Loft, and thank you for hosting. What a lovely addition to our hostess group you are.

Leave a Reply

