Decluttering · Homemaking · Life · Uncategorized

Decluttering~The Struggle is Real

Decluttering:My Struggle is Real @godschicki

Full disclosure: While I love the idea of being a homemaker, and am pretty good at quite a few skills that help make up that role, I stink at keeping things tidy. Cleaning I can handle, decluttered, that’s another story.

I tend to hold onto things for a variety of reasons that I have learned much about over the past year or so.

I lost my dad when I was young. I am very sentimental.

I grew up in a home where we did not waste anything and reused what we could because we had to.

We did things as inexpensively as we could, again, because we had to.

We lived 45 minutes from the closest Walmart, so when we went we had to stock up.

I look at something and see what it *could* be with a bit of love and maybe some paint.

Our house is by no means an episode of hoarders, but it is very cluttered.

(If anyone cares, the ‘h’ word above is one I *hate*, like I have seen some people get funny over words that they hate, that is how I am over that one and fart. Probably the only two words I am that way with, but there you have it…now, where was I?)

Growing up, we never really had much of a cleaning schedule or routine. My mom’s mom had a maid when she was young, so she did not learn. I did not learn many of the habits I am working on now.

There are several books and resources I have been using over the past year to help learn about my brain and these helpful habits, I will post more about those later.

Example of habits I am working on: if you are done with it put it away-right away. Seriously, like when you strain the teabag, just chuck it, do not ever set it down to forget it; or instead of leaving the bottle of sauce I just dumped part of into dinner on the counter or stove, just put it back in the cabinet or frig.

Yeah. Very basic and stuff most people grew up with. I did not.

I am trying to teach my kids those habits. With an almost 3 year old and a 1 1/2 year old, it is hard, but if they learn now, it will be better for them when they grow up. I have to establish those habits myself first. To change their normal.

Now that I am understanding how my brain works more, I just have to figure out how to get stuff done with the kids.

That’s been my biggest frustration recently. After asking in several groups of Christian moms, how they get things done with small kids, all I got was “lower your standards”.

Um, they are pretty low right now. If I manage to get a load of laundry, a load of diapers and a load of dishes done, and keep the kids happy and fed, it is a good day.

But, that’s not going to make progress. Right now the only time I have to go through stuff is when Daddy takes the kids out on the weekend for a few hours, or when my sweet family comes and helps out with the kids for a few days.

Do you have ideas on decluttering with small kids underfoot? How do you order your days to get stuff done with littles underfoot?

7 thoughts on “Decluttering~The Struggle is Real

  1. I feel you, girl. I’m sort of in the same place you are. I have 3 little ones (5 and under) and I did not learn to clean or declutter until I was married. My husband is an extreme minimalist so he has basically trained me to throw junk away if we don’t use it often or don’t need it. That has helped me tremendously. And I’ve just gotten to where I loathe “junk”….it stresses me out and it takes away time I could be spending with my family. So that inspires me to just let it go. I’m planning on doing a decluttering/organization series on my blog soon as well. Good luck!

  2. My mom taught me this saying “if a thing doesn’t belong in whatever room, put it away.” So when I find my shoes or DVDs on the counter, I make it a habit to put it away. It’s easier said than done especially with a newborn in our house!

    Your mother had a maid? She must be wealthy. Mine did too, but that is because I grew up in the Philippines where every household had a maid!

  3. Decluttering is my epic struggle as well! With a seven-year-old and four-year-old who are always putting stuff down wherever they please, it is hard to keep the house in order. However, I have implemented a chore/responsibility chart that is hanging up in a prominent place and they each get to put a smiley face on when a particular task is complete. I like your idea of putting stuff away right after you’ve used it! Need to get better about that- you would not want to see my kitchen counter at this exact moment. 🙂

    1. Oh, my counters are horrible right now! My Littles are 3 & 1 1/3, so there’s not a whole lot they can do right now. But I am trying to teach them to clean up after themselves.

Leave a Reply

