Natural Living · Uncategorized

15 Tips For A Better Night’s Sleep

15 Tips for a Better Night's Sleep @godschicki

Sleep is something I definitely have not gotten enough of over the past couple of years. With two kids 3 and under, who until recently still nursed during the night, getting sleep can be rough. Despite my lack of sleep, I have learned some tricks for getting better quality sleep.

It is a key to Having a More Productive Day.

Our bodies require sleep, and when we do not get enough, it takes it’s toll.

Physical Activity

This is one I need to get better at! Experts say that getting 150 minutes of physical activity during the week greatly improves sleep quality and duration. I know that when we go out more and I am walking the kids around and lifting on them, I do sleep better!

Keeping Hydrated During the Day

I have shared briefly about how hydrations is so important in our lives in this post. Sleep is greatly affected by our hydration levels. Your brain is about 85% water, so when you are dehydrated, it can cause our brains to not function as well, including when we are asleep.

Avoiding Caffeine

Caffeine is not good for you, so cutting it out altogether is best, but avoiding it past 2 is critical to a good night’s sleep. A recent study found that “caffeine consumed even 6 hours before bedtime resulted in significantly diminished sleep quality and sleep quantity”.

Turn Off Electronics an Hour Before Bed/Kicking Electronics Out of The Bedroom or Powering Them Down.

I really need to get better at this, but I know that when everything is off, my sleep is so much better. Exposure to the light (and electronic signals) emitted by electronics can seriously affect sleep time, sleep quality and alertness during the day.

In this day and age it is hard, but worth it!

Tart Cherry Juice or Gummies.

Tart cherry juice contains is rich in melatonin which helps control sleep and waking cycles. This recipe for gummies from WellnessMama is a great one designed to help get a good night’s sleep.

Essential Oils

I made of blend of oils that helps quiet the mind and relax the body, you can find that post here.

Magnesium Oil

Magnesium oil is probably my best advice. I know that whenever I use it, I get a much better quality sleep. Instead of paying $18-20 for 8 ounces, I make my own-for about $11 a quart! You can read about that here.

Keep Cool

I find that if we keep the thermostat between 65 and 72 degrees (f) I get much better sleep. It really is about comfort though, too hot or too cold and you will not get as good a night’s sleep.

Blackout

Cutting off all lights and using blackout curtains is a big one. Our bodies get better sleep when it is dark. The production of melatonin is inhibited by light.

Living in the city, there are a lot of street lights to deal with. Cutting out a night light can help kids get better sleep. We have not done night lights unless we have a very new baby in the room (so I can see to nurse without waking the whole gang).

Write It Down

Quieting my mind is hard. As a mom, there are so many things to do and remember. I find that writing down what is on my mind helps me be able to let go of those thoughts without the fear of forgetting.

Sleep Spots

Acupressure/reflexology can help get a good night’s sleep as well. My kids like for me to rub between their eyebrows just where the bridge of the nose meets the forehead, which is a spot that can help sleep come easier by helping to quiet the mind. Some other points can be found here.

Prayer

My favorite way to bid the day ado, casting my cares upon the Lord and giving thanks for what He has done in my life. The peace that only He can give is truly the best way to get a good night’s rest.

 

Do you have trouble getting a good night’s sleep? Did I miss any tips that have helped you?

I often link up posts at:

Wow Us Wednesday | Grace & Lace Linkup | The Loft | From House to Home | Think Tank Thursday | Grace at Home |

4 thoughts on “15 Tips For A Better Night’s Sleep

Leave a Reply

